FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 5, 2023 Contact: Mindy Claggett, SOCHE (937) 258-8890 | <u>mindy.claggett@soche.org</u>

SOCHE Announces 2022-2023 Excellence Awards Winners

Dayton, Ohio (5 June 2023) -- The Strategic Ohio Council for Higher Education (SOCHE) has announced <u>41 Excellence Awards recipients</u> from across 15 member institutions for the 2022-2023 school year.

Academic officers at each university selected one Faculty Excellence Award winner based on their institution's criteria, with special consideration of demonstrated excellence in teaching, service, and/or scholarship. Similarly, Human Resource officers selected one Staff Excellence Award winner based on their institution's criteria, with special consideration of demonstrated excellence in student success, service, and/or assessment.

This year saw the addition of a new award, the Campus Impact Award, which is based on institutional selection criteria, with special consideration for performance that made a positive impact on the school or campus, as a whole. This category was open to faculty, staff, or administrators.

SOCHE will honor four award winners each month from June 2023 through April 2024. Faculty and staff winners will be highlighted via SOCHE social media channels and on the SOCHE Excellence Awards webpage. The full list of award winners and their supporting information is available here - <u>https://www.soche.org/soche-excellence-awards-2022-2023/</u>

Formed in 1967, Strategic Ohio Council for Higher Education is a consortium of 22 colleges and universities located throughout Ohio. SOCHE is the regional leader for higher collaboration, engaging with colleges, universities, and industry to transform the economy through the education and employment of nearly 200,000 students in southwest Ohio. See more at <u>www.soche.org</u>

2022-2023 SOCHE Excellence Award Recipients (by institution):

AIR FORCE INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

- Dr. Alice "Betsy" Grimes | Director, Center for Innovation | Campus Impact Award
- <u>Christina M. Wells-Norris</u> | Registrar, Air Force Nuclear College | Staff Excellence Award
- Edward "Tony" White | Professor of Statistics | Faculty Excellence Award

ANTIOCH COLLEGE

• Emily Samborsky | Director of the Olive Kettering Library | Campus Impact Award

- <u>Natalie Suzelis</u> | Assistant Professor of Literature, Department of Humanities | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Nancy Wilburn</u> | Senior Administrative Assistant for Academic and Student Operations | Staff Excellence Award

CEDARVILLE UNIVERSITY

- <u>Chad Jackson</u> | Creative Director, Marketing Department | Campus Impact Award
- <u>Kim Jenerette</u> | Executive Director of Financial Aid | Staff Excellence Award
- <u>Dr. Michael Weller</u> | Associate Professor of Athletic Training and Interim Dean, Allied Health | Faculty Excellence Award

CENTRAL STATE UNIVERSITY

- <u>Dr. Roger Anderson</u> | Assistant Professor of International Languages and Cultures | Department of Communication, Composition, and Languages | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Alma Brown</u> | Administrative Secretary, Department of Professional Education | Staff Excellence Award
- <u>Mortenous Johnson</u> | Director, TRIO Student Support Services | Office of Academic Affairs | Campus Impact Award

CLARK STATE COLLEGE

- <u>Dr. Robert Derr</u> | Associate Professor of English, Department of Arts & Sciences | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Nina Wiley</u> | Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs | Staff Excellence Award

EDISON STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE

 David Barth | Professor of Electronics Engineering Technology, Department of Engineering | Faculty Excellence Award

FRANKLIN UNIVERSITY

- Michael Klingler | Chair, Department of English & Humanities | Campus Impact Award
- <u>Jessica Leber</u> | Undergraduate Academic Advising Team Lead, Student Development & Services | Staff Excellence Award
- Dr. Todd Whittaker | Chair, Department of Computing Sciences & Mathematics | Faculty Excellence Award

KETTERING COLLEGE

- <u>Drew Kistler</u> | Workstation Administrator, Information Technology | Campus Impact Award
- <u>Randi Quale</u> | Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Assessment & Accreditation | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Courtney Sewell</u> | Pre-Nursing Coach and Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Nursing | Department of Nursing | Staff Excellence Award

MIAMI UNIVERSITY REGIONALS

- <u>Mohammed Alkhafaji</u> | Clinical Simulation Assistant, Nursing Department | Staff Excellence Award
- <u>Sara Arter</u> | Assistant Professor, Nursing Department | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Tonya Moryl</u> | Administrative Associate, Miami University Regionals Development | Campus Impact Award

SINCLAIR COMMUNITY COLLEGE

- Joseph "Joe" Czupryn | Assistant Professor of Mathematics | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Michele Marcum</u> | Executive Administrative Assistant, Diversity Office | Staff Excellence Award

SOUTHERN STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE

- <u>Dr. Julie Krebs</u> | Dean of Health Sciences and Director of Nursing | Staff Excellence Award
- <u>Dr. Joshua Montgomery</u> | Associate Professor, Computer Science | Division Coordinator for Applied Sciences | eSports Coordinator | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Susan Morris</u> | PTK Advisor and former COVID Coordinator | Student Affairs | Campus Impact Award

UNIVERSITY OF DAYTON

- <u>Rita McGinn</u> | Senior Administrative Assistant, Department of Philosophy | Staff Excellence Award
- Dr. Lis Regula | Lecturer, Department of Biology | Faculty Excellence Award
- Lynn White | Associate Director of Dining Services | Campus Impact Award

WILMINGTON COLLEGE

- <u>Dr. Erin Bales</u> | Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy | Department of Occupational Therapy | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Charles "Chip" Murdock</u> | Sr. Director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion and Service & Civic Engagement | Campus Impact Award
- Deanna Vatan | Associate Vice President of Retention and Academic Success | Staff Excellence Award

WITTENBERG UNIVERSITY

- <u>Dr. Matt Collier</u> | Professor of Biological and Environmental Sciences | Provost Biology | Faculty Excellence Award
- Megan Hilliard | Police Coordinator, Police Division | Staff Excellence Award
- Dan McDermitt | Director of Facilities Management | Campus Impact Award

WRIGHT STATE UNIVERSITY

- Shamon Green | Academic Advisor, Student Success Services | Staff Excellence Award
- <u>Dr. Jeffrey Peters</u> | Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Biological Sciences | Faculty Excellence Award
- <u>Michelle Streeter-Ferrari</u> | Director, University Center for International Education | Campus Impact Award