PARTNER OF THE YEAR AWARDS NOMINATION FORM



The Partners for the Environment's Partner of the Year Awards celebrate those who work to protect, preserve, and restore the environmental and agricultural resources of the Great Miami River and Little Miami River watersheds. The Awards recognize some of our victories and honors those who provide us with leadership and inspiration.

CRITERIA

- Achieved significant results
- Provided leadership and vision
- Inspired the work of others
- Utilized innovative strategies or techniques
- Collaborated with other Partner organizations
- Increased community action
- Acted in a courageous manner
- Works in the geographic area of the Great Miami River and/or Little Miami River watersheds

Award winners will be recognized at the Partners for the Environment Fall Awards Celebration on September 21, 2022. Details about the application process and award categories can be found below.

APPLICATION PROCESS

Anyone is eligible to submit a nomination. To nominate yourself or another individual, please submit the following information **no later than July 29, 2022**. Nominations will be reviewed by a panel of community organization representatives.

- 1. Your name and contact information including phone and email.
- 2. The **nominee's name and contact information** including phone and email.
- 3. **The award category**. Please select one of the following:
 - Partner of the Year Award (organization)
 - Individual of the Year Award
 - Sustainable Community of the Year Award
 - Lifetime Achievement Award
- 4. A **one-page description of how the nominee meets the criteria**. Tell us about your nominee and how they meet the criteria. Narrative may be up to one page in length. Please attach any supporting documentation.
- 5. Any supporting documentation to validate your nomination.

Submit to: Partners for the Environment, 2750-B Indian Ripple Rd. #225, Beavercreek, Ohio 45440 **OR:** admin@gdpartners.org



AWARD CATEGORIES

PARTNER OF THE YEAR AWARD

Any organization who in the past 12 months represents some or all of the criteria listed above.

Previous Partner of the Year award winners:

2021 – CO-OP Dayton – Gem City Market

2020 - Glen Helen Association

2020 - Brukner Nature Center

2019 - Warren County Soil and Water Conservation District

2018 - YSI - Xylem

2017 - Miami Valley Leave No Child Inside

2016 - Upper River Fund

2015 - Glen Helen & Tecumseh Land Trust Partnership

2014 - University of Dayton

2013 – Beavercreek Wetlands Association

2012 - Aullwood Audubon Center and Farm

2011 - Hamilton Soil and Water Conservation District

THE INDIVIDUAL OF THE YEAR AWARD

Any individual (board member, staff, volunteer, or private citizen) who in the past 12 months represents some or all of the criteria listed above while working with an organization.

Previous Individual of the Year award winners:

2021 - Matthew Lawson

2020 - Jess Evans

2020 – Meredith Florkey

2019 – Alexis Faust

2018 – Terry Staley

2017 – Stephen Mackell

2016 – Jim Mason

2016 - Terry Lavy

2015 - Bill Schieman

2014 - David Fisher

2013 – Larry Frimerman

2012 - Cal Conrad

2011 - Aaron Rourke

THE SUSTAINABLE COMMUNITY AWARD

Any political jurisdiction that made significant progress during the last 12 months to become more sustainable. Sustainable actions include but are not limited to: enacting development policies that encourage installation of green infrastructure; protecting open space, farmland, or natural habitats; increasing public access to nature; reducing discharges from stormwater or wastewater; increasing recycling and waste reduction programs; sourcing local food; creating complete streets; developing urban service boundaries.

Previous Sustainable Community of the Year award winners:

2021 - City of Dayton

2020 - Village of Yellow Springs

2019 – No award given

2018 – Montgomery County

2017 - No award given

2016 - Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission

2015 - Warren County Regional Planning Commission

THE LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Any individual (board member, staff, volunteer, or private citizen) whose life's work represents some or all of the criteria listed above while working with an organization.

Previous Lifetime Achievement award winners:

2021 – Krista Magaw

2020 - Hope Taft

2019 – Jo Granzow

2018 – Jean Bindeman

2018 – Bob Jurick

2018 - Dave Nolin

2017 - Ralph Dull

2017 – Dan Jackson (posthumous)

2016 – Barbara Rion

2015 - Irv Bieser

2014 – Charity Krueger

2013 – Jim Amon

2012 – Julia Cady

2011 - Dane Mutter

2011 – Don Geiger